logo

title icon

Campaign Financing


Campaign finance legislation is based on the premise that money is a significant factor in electoral success.

Legislation therefore attempts to promote financial equity and fairness primarily with respect to election campaigns. Some have referred to campaign finance legislation as legislation designed to create a level playing field.

Campaign finance legislation, in the form of The Election Financing Act (EFA), was introduced in Manitoba in 1980. It included a limit on advertising expenses and public financial support in the form of tax credit. In 1985, it was expanded to limit total election expenses, allow for reimbursement of expenses and included an audit subsidy.

Goals of the legislation include:

  • increasing participation in the electoral process
  • controlling the amounts of money which can be spent
  • sharing of resources so as to promote a broader range of views
  • public financial support (reimbursement of eligible expenses and tax credits for contributions)

Since its introduction, The EFA has continued to evolve to improve the fairness and transparency of the electoral system through the introduction of contribution limits and by enhancing public disclosure (the types of information political participants must report to Elections Manitoba).

In 2012, the EFA was rewritten in plain language to make the law more accessible to the public. Along with the re-write, the new legislation changed the way in which the annual allowance to registered parties administered and introduced new third party legislation.

In this section you can learn about the financial responsibilities of registered parties, leadership contestants, candidates, constituency associations, official agents, auditors and others.

email election@elections.mb.ca | phone 204-945-3225 | 1-866-628-6837

Elections Manitoba © 2016

logo

title icon

L'établissement de règles du jeu équitables


La législation relative au financement des campagnes électorales est fondée sur la prémisse que l’argent est un facteur important du succès électoral.

Elle tente donc de promouvoir l’équité financière principalement en ce qui concerne les campagnes électorales. Pour certains, elle vise à établir des règles du jeu équitables.

La législation relative au financement des campagnes électorales, appelée Loi sur le financement des élections , a été adoptée en 1980 au Manitoba. Elle prévoit un plafond des dépenses de publicité et une aide financière du gouvernement sous forme de crédit d’impôt. En 1985, la Loi a été modifiée afin de prévoir l’i mposition d’un plafond à la somme des dépenses électorales, ainsi que le remboursement des dépenses et des frais de vérification.

Les buts de la législation sont les suivants :

  • accroître la participation au processus électoral;
  • surveiller les sommes qui peuvent être dépensées;
  • partager les ressources afin de permettre la diffusion d’une plus vaste gamme d’opinions ;
  • offrir une aide financière du gouvernement (remboursement des dépenses admissibles et crédits d’impôt pour les contributions).

Depuis ce moment, la Loi sur le financement des élections s’est bonifiée en vue d’améliorer l’é quité et la transparence du système électoral grâce à l’adoption d’u n plafond des contributions et à l’accroissement de la divulgation publique (les types de renseignements que les participants politiques doivent communiquer à Élections Manitoba).

En 2012, la Loi sur le financement des élections a été réécrite en langage clair afin d’être plus accessible au public. La nouvelle loi a également modifié la façon dont l'allocation annuelle pout les partis politiques est administrée et a mis en place de nouvelles mesures législatives relatives aux tiers.

Dans cette section, vous en saurez plus sur les obligations financières des partis politiques, des candidats à la direction d’un parti, des candidats, des associations de circonscription, des agents officiels, des vérificateurs et autres.

email election@elections.mb.ca | phone 204-945-3225 | 1-866-628-6837

Élections Manitoba © 2016