logo

title icon

Accessible Elections in Manitoba


Elections Manitoba has a mandate to make voting accessible. As the organization responsible for ensuring all eligible voters have the opportunity to participate in elections, Elections Manitoba is committed to identifying and removing barriers to full participation.

Current election law already provides many ways for Manitobans with disabilities to easily and independently cast a ballot. Find out about accessible voting options in Manitoba.

In December 2013, The Accessibility for Manitobans Act (AMA) became law. The AMA provides an opportunity for us to examine our existing practices and processes, celebrate our achievements to date, and identify priorities for eliminating barriers in the future. In order to comply with the legislation, public sector organizations must create an accessibility plan. Elections Manitoba's plan will be completed by the end of 2017.

To assist in the development of an accessibility plan, Elections Manitoba invited leaders from the disability community to participate in a consultation. At the consultation, we described our current accessible election practices, outlined our plans to increase accessibility in the future and asked for their ideas and feedback. With their input, we will now finalize our accessibility plan and make it available to the public on our website.

We will continue to partner with these and other disabilities organizations as we work towards an even more accessible electoral process. They will serve as resources for us in implementing our new initiatives and will help us communicate more effectively with the public about accessible voting opportunities. We thank them for their participation.

Did you know?

  • Nearly 180,000 or one in six Manitobans has a disability.
  • An accessibility barrier is anything that limits or prevents a person from receiving information, goods and services, from accessing a space or participating in an activity.
  • Barriers may be structural.
  • Barriers may affect information and communication.
  • Barriers may be improved or made worse by new technology.
  • Barriers may be accidental or systemic when they result from policies and practices.
  • Attitudes can be the greatest barrier of all.

Find out more about accessibility for Manitobans. [Note: This links to a Government of Manitoba site]

email election@elections.mb.ca | phone 204-945-3225 | 1-866-628-6837

Elections Manitoba © 2016

logo

title icon

Élections accessibles au Manitoba


Élections Manitoba a le mandat de rendre le scrutin accessible. À titre d’organisme chargé de veiller à ce que toutes les personnes admissibles participent aux élections, Élections Manitoba s’engage à reconnaître et à supprimer les barrières à la pleine participation.

Les dispositions législatives régissant actuellement les élections fournissent de nombreuses façons pour les personnes handicapées du Manitoba de voter facilement et de manière autonome. Découvrez les possibilités de vote accessible au Manitoba.

En décembre 2013, la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les Manitobains a été adoptée. Afin de se conformer aux dispositions législatives, les organismes du secteur public doivent créer un plan d’accessibilité en consultation avec des personnes qui ont un handicap. Dans notre plan, nous examinons nos pratiques et nos processus existants, célébrons nos réalisations et établissons des priorités pour la suppression des barrières à l’avenir.

Pour aider à l’élaboration du plan d’accessibilité, Élections Manitoba a tenu une consultation avec des représentants de sept associations de personnes handicapées au Manitoba. Leur rétroaction a été au cœur de l’élaboration du plan d’accessibilité d’Élections Manitoba. Les associations suivantes ont pris part à cette consultation :

  • le Centre autochtone de la santé et du bien-être;
  • Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB)/Vision Loss Rehabilitation Manitoba
  • le Deaf Centre Manitoba;
  • l’E-Quality Communication Centre d’Excellence Inc.;
  • la Société canadienne de la sclérose en plaques, division du Manitoba;
  • Inclusion Winnipeg
  • la Society for Manitobans with Disabilities Inc.

Voir le plan d’accessibilité d’Élections Manitoba

(Version Word)

Nous continuerons à travailler en partenariat avec ces personnes et avec d’autres organismes œuvrant pour les personnes handicapées à mesure que nous cherchons à rendre le processus électoral encore plus accessible. Nous ferons appel à eux lorsque nous devrons mettre en place de nouvelles initiatives et ils nous aideront à communiquer de manière plus efficace avec le public à propos des possibilités de vote accessible. Nous les remercions de leur participation.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Près de 180 000 Manitobains ont un handicap, ce qui représente environ une personne sur six.
  • On entend par « barrière à l’accessibilité » tout ce qui empêche partiellement ou totalement une personne de recevoir de l’information, des services et des biens et d’avoir accès à des lieux ou à des activités.
  • Les barrières peuvent être structurelles.
  • Elles peuvent avoir des répercussions sur l’information et la communication.
  • Elles peuvent être diminuées ou aggravées par les nouvelles technologies.
  • Elles peuvent être accidentelles ou systémiques lorsqu’elles sont le résultat de politiques ou de pratiques.
  • Les barrières comportementales peuvent être les plus importantes.

Renseignez-vous sur l’accessibilité pour les Manitobains. [Remarque : ce lien mène vers un site du gouvernement du Manitoba.]

email election@elections.mb.ca | phone 204-945-3225 | 1-866-628-6837

Élections Manitoba © 2016