logo

Due to COVID-19, Elections Manitoba's office is closed to the public until further notice. To contact us: election@elections.mb.ca or 204-945-3225 (voice mail). Find out about services currently offered.

title icon

Manitoba Voter Register


Elections Manitoba maintains a permanent voters list known as the Manitoba Voter Register. The register replaces province-wide enumeration as the method of voter registration for provincial elections. Changes to The Elections Act passed in 2017 require the creation of the register.

Eligible voters are encouraged to keep their information up-to-date in the register, to ensure that they receive a voter information card when an election is called. Eligible voters are those Manitobans who are:

  • Canadian citizens
  • 18 years of age or older
  • Residents of Manitoba for six months prior to election day

In addition to voter updates, Elections Manitoba regularly receives voter information from other sources, including Elections Canada, Manitoba Public Insurance (MPI), Manitoba Health and Vital Statistics. This allows Elections Manitoba to keep the register up-to-date as people become eligible to vote, either by becoming Canadian citizens, turning 18, or living in the province for six months. Voters will also be able to add their own names to the register or update their own information.

The register also links every voter to a Manitoba address. By linking voter and address information, the register assigns each voter to a voting area and voting place within an electoral division.

The legislation also allows Elections Manitoba to collect personal information about Manitobans who may become eligible to vote, including 16- and 17-year-olds.

PRIVACY AND SECURITY OF VOTER INFORMATION


Elections Manitoba has put a series of safeguards in place to ensure the privacy and security of voter information. Safeguards include data encryption, limited access to the register, and secure data storage and management.

Information about eligible voters and other Manitobans collected for the register includes name, address, date of birth, gender, phone number and email address (if provided by the individual) and any identification number provided by one of the information sources.

Personal health data and records, as well as vehicle insurance data and records will NOT be collected by Elections Manitoba.

As outlined in The Elections Act, information in the register may be used only for election purposes. A voters list is drawn from the register for each election and byelection. Elections Manitoba provides this list to candidates and political parties during an election. In addition, a voters list is provided to parties every year.

Voters lists provided to candidates and parties will include only the name, address and phone number of the voter, where provided.

Voters may apply to have their name removed from the register. FIND OUT HOW.

If you have questions about the Manitoba Voter Register contact us.

+-
email election@elections.mb.ca | phone 204-945-3225 | 1-866-628-6837

Elections Manitoba © 2020

Accueil
Skip to content

Elections Manitoba

Home Page

LE REGISTRE DES ÉLECTEURS DU MANITOBA


Élections Manitoba maintient une liste électorale permanente qui porte le nom de Registre des électeurs du Manitoba. Le registre remplace le recensement à l’échelle de la province comme méthode d’inscription des électeurs pour les élections provinciales. Des modifications à la Loi électorale adoptées en 2017 exigent la création du registre.

On encourage les électeurs admissibles de tenir leur information à jour dans le registre, afin d‘assurer qu’ils recevront une carte d’information de l’électeur lors d’élections. Les électeurs admissibles sont les résidents du Manitoba qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • être de citoyenneté canadienne;
  • avoir 18 ans le jour du scrutin; et
  • résider au Manitoba pendant au moins six mois immédiatement avant le jour du scrutin.

En plus des mises à jour fournis par les électeurs, Élections Manitoba reçoit des renseignements sur les électeurs d’autres sources, dont Élections Canada, la Société d’assurance publique du Manitoba, Santé Manitoba et Le Bureau de l’état civil. Cela permet à Élections Manitoba de tenir le registre à jour au fur et à mesure que les gens deviennent admissibles à voter, soit parce qu’ils obtiennent la citoyenneté canadienne, atteignent 18 ans ou résident dans la province depuis au moins six mois. Les électeurs peuvent également ajouter leur nom au registre ou mettre à jour leurs propres renseignements.

Le registre lie également chaque électeur à une adresse au Manitoba. En liant les renseignements sur l’électeur et l’adresse, le registre peut assigner chaque électeur à une section de vote et à un centre de scrutin dans une circonscription électorale.

Les dispositions législatives permettent également à Élections Manitoba de recueillir des renseignements personnels sur les Manitobains qui pourraient devenir admissibles à voter, dont les jeunes âgés de 16 et 17 ans.

CONFIDENTIALITÉ ET SÉCURITÉ DES RENSEIGNEMENTS DES ÉLECTEURS


Élections Manitoba a mis en place une série de mesures de protection pour garantir la confidentialité et la sécurité des renseignements des électeurs. Parmi ces mesures, on compte le chiffrage des données, la restriction de l’accès au registre ainsi que l’entreposage et la gestion sécuritaires des données.

Les renseignements sur les électeurs admissibles et les autres Manitobains recueillis pour le registre comprennent le nom, l’adresse, la date de naissance, le sexe, le numéro de téléphone et l’adresse électronique) et tout autre numéro d’identification fourni par l’une des sources de renseignements.

Les renseignements et les dossiers médicaux personnels, de même que les données et les dossiers sur l’assurance automobile NE seront PAS recueillis par Élections Manitoba.

Comme le prévoit la Loi électorale, les renseignements contenus dans le registre peuvent uniquement être utilisés à des fins électorales. Une liste électorale est créée à partir du registre pour toutes les élections générales et élections partielles. Cette liste est remise aux candidates et aux partis politiques lors d’une élection. De plus, une liste électorale est fournie aux partis chaque année.

Les listes électorales fournies aux candidats et aux partis n’incluent que le nom, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone de l’électeur, le cas échéant.

Les électeurs ont également la possibilité de se faire retirer de la liste électorale sur demande. DÉCOUVREZ COMMENT.

Si vous avez des questions sur le registre des électeurs du Manitoba, communiquez avec nous..

+-
Courriel : election@elections.mb.ca election@elections.mb.ca | Phone Elections Manitoba 204-945-3225 | Sans frais au Canada et aux ÉU 1-866-628-6837

Élections Manitoba © 2021